CA18DET smoking black

Discussion of technical issues and ideas (engine, chassis)

Moderators: P3g4sus, Daniel, rat, Draco, Riekert

robldepo
0.2 Bar Boost
Car: S13

CA18DET smoking black

Post by robldepo »

howsit all just a quick one.

my sx is as standard as they come no mods done whatsoever, the car smokes heavy black smoke when i rev it up and also doesnt seem to whant to rev up nice and smooth, now im no expert but black smoke to me means overfuel. how is it posible for my car to overfuel with a standard setup? makes no sence to me.

any thoughts?

i replaced fuel filter cleaned fuel pumps filter cant seem to find any cracks in boost pipes or any vacume leaks, what am i missing?

thanks guys

rat
Administrator
Car: R32
Engine: RB

Re: CA18DET smoking black

Post by rat »

Black smoke is fuel.

Check for vacuum leaks.
Hot Plates are Sexy

troopiec
0.4 Bar Boost

Post by troopiec »

faulty airflow meter or faulty ECU coolant temp sensor? they play a big role in fueling

robldepo
0.2 Bar Boost

Post by robldepo »

now that you mention it the airflow meter might be a problem thats the whole reason the guy soled the car in the first place and the airflow meter that i put on there came from a guy in capetown but who is to say that one is in working order, anyone maybe have an airflow meter that i can either buy or just use to test to maybe eliminate that proble?

thanks guys

SonOfAnarchy ZA
Administrator

Post by SonOfAnarchy ZA »

Got one you can shove in to see if that helps swing by my place with the car on sat we can swap it and see
"I'd rather lose by a mile because I built my own car, than win by an inch because someone else built it for me"

robldepo
0.2 Bar Boost

Post by robldepo »